Home Australia Today Awards Reward Class of 2020 High Achievers

Awards Reward Class of 2020 High Achievers

Awards Reward Class of 2020 High Achievers

Nearly 60 high-achieving Year 12 graduates from Weipa to the border town of Stanthorpe will have some extra cash in their pockets to support their university studies, thanks to Palaszczuk Government grants and scholarships.

They include 36 students who are studying to become teachers, as well as winners of an award that recognises one of Queensland’s great reforming Labor premiers, T.J. Ryan.    

Education Minister Grace Grace congratulated the winners of the 2021 T J Ryan Memorial Medal and Scholarships and the 2021 Aspiring Teacher Grants.

“Thomas Joseph Ryan was a teacher and a lawyer before he led many important social and economic reforms as Premier of Queensland during World War I,” he said.

“Along with our Aspiring Teaching Grants, these awards give a helping hand to Queensland’s best and brightest as they pursue their university studies.

“It’s particularly important that we encourage the young people who demonstrate the dedication, skills and knowledge we want in Queensland classrooms.”

Aspiring Teacher Grant recipients include Josie Millard from Weipa, who graduated from Western Cape College and is currently enrolled in a Bachelor of Early Childhood Education at Central Queensland University, based in Cairns.

“I’m planning to use my grant towards my university fees and also for flights home to Weipa to see my family,” Josie said.

“Growing up in a remote community you really see the difference teachers make to children’s education and to their whole lives.

“I’d love to teach in a rural or remote community when I graduate. It’s so important for children to understand that growing up in a remote community shouldn’t limit you and you can achieve whatever you set your mind to.”

Josie is one of seven rural and remote school leavers who receive $5000 grants.

Beaudesert State High graduate Georgia Tommerup is enrolled in a Bachelor of Education – Secondary at Griffith University in Brisbane and is one of 32 students who received $2500 general Aspiring Teacher Grants.

“Teaching is the perfect career for me. I’ve always been supported by my teachers and I want to be that person for someone else,” she said.

The TJ Ryan Memorial Medal and Scholarships provide up to $10,000 to winners.

They include Brisbane State High School graduate Angela Chen who is studying a Bachelor of Medical Science/ Doctor of Medicine at UNSW and Rockhampton Grammar School graduate Sansuka De Silva who is studying a Bachelor of Medical Science/Doctor of Medicine at Monash University in Melbourne.

Both of them say their scholarships will help fund their travel home from interstate.

Read the full list of recipient of TJ Ryan scholarships.

Read the full list of Aspiring Teacher Grants.

Minister for Education, Minister for Industrial Relations and Minister for Racing
The Honourable Grace Grace


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here