Award Winners

Award Winners

The Herberton Mining Museum and Visitor Information Centre was recently the recipient of the prestigious 2020 John Oxley Library Community History Award.

Gifted by the Library Board of Queensland and the Queensland Library Foundation, the award recognises individuals and local community organisations for distinction and innovation in the documenting and sharing of Queensland’s history.

Councillor Annette Haydon, Deputy Mayor Kevin Cardew and Mayor Rod Marti joined the museum volunteers and TRC staff to celebrate their win.

‘It’s great to see the volunteers recognised for their Community Research Room and Collection Management Overhaul Project,’ said Councillor Annette Haydon. 

‘The group worked hard to create a community research area, and transform an overcrowded collection space into a collections operation centre and dedicated archives space.

‘They also took part in training to better understand collection policy and management.

‘They’re a wonderful group of people who are committed to the preservation of history in the area.

‘They are extremely worthy of this award,’ said Councillor Haydon.

The Herberton Mining Museum houses a large archive of information and objects from Herberton and associated mining field.

The museum’s research team fields enquiries from professional and amateur genealogists, universities and consulting firms both locally and worldwide. 

Contact the volunteers at for research and museum enquiries.

Photo above: Volunteers, Councillors and TRC staff at the award celebration © Sherrie-Ann Cockell Photography. (L–R) John Philippa, Elizabeth Atkins (TRC), Ivan Searston, Pauline Spackman, Mary Searston, Councillor Annette Haydon, Colin Purchase, Christine McCann, Pam Egan, Carol Purchase, Norman Mann, Graham Greaves, Deputy Mayor Kevin Cardew, Elaine Bruce, Mayor Rod Marti and Robin Snow.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here